Calidore String Quartet to Receive Lincoln Center Emerging Artists Award

Calidore String Quartet
Lincoln Center News

Lincoln Center Awards for Emerging Artists Celebrate Diverse Talents 

Awards program and dinner will be held in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse

March 1 at 7:00 pm

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts announced today its second class of Emerging Artists, recognizing diverse talents, from a visionary filmmaker to world-class musicians to a singer-songwriter currently starring on Broadway. Each recipient was nominated by one of Lincoln Center's eleven resident organizations, acknowledging his or her extraordinary talent and budding career. The 2017 winners are: Calidore String Quartet (Chamber Music Society); filmmaker Dustin Guy Defa (Film Society of Lincoln Center); soprano Kiera Duffy (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts); dancer Joseph Gordon (New York City Ballet); violinist and concertmaster Frank Huang (New York Philharmonic); violinist Paul Huang (The Juilliard School); playwright Michael R. Jackson (Lincoln Center Theater); saxophonist Julian Lee (Jazz at Lincoln Center); singer-songwriter-actress Grace McLean (Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts); baritone Yunpeng Wang (The Metropolitan Opera); director, producer, and performer Ben West (The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts); and dancer Andres Zuniga (School of American Ballet).

Two-time Golden Globe winner and Oscar and Tony nominee Sigourney Weaver will host the awards presentation, which will include live and taped performances by the awardees, as well as appearances from Katherine Brown, Danny Burstein, Laura Osnes, and Desmond Richardson, on March 1 at 7:00 pm at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse. More information is available at

Several of the honorees will be acknowledged with endowed awards. Both Dustin Guy Defa and Ben West will receive Martin E. Segal Awards, which have recognized two artists of exceptional talent early on in their careers each year for more than three decades. The recipients of the Hunt Family Awards, given to nominees from Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, are Kiera Duffy and Grace McLean. The inaugural Herbert Family Dance Award, awarded by the School of American Ballet, will be given to Andres Zuniga. Each of the awardees will receive $7,500 to be used for career advancement and study.


Peter L. Malkin, Esq. and the Hon. William H. Donaldson, co-chairs of the Emeritus Board of Lincoln Center, expressed how these awards strengthen the mission of Lincoln Center.

"Since its inception, Lincoln Center has been a venue for the greatest artists of our day, and to continue that legacy it's crucial to invest in the artists of tomorrow. The Emerging Artist Awards provide both recognition and funding for the future essential voices of our community, to nurture their talents and support them as they chart their careers," said Mr. Malkin.

Mr. Donaldson added, "The awardees we honor this year follow in the steps of former honorees, such as the great cellist Alisa Weilerstein, renowned choreographer Christopher Wheeldon, and Oscar-winning filmmaker Laura Poitras. The members of this class have already contributed great works of music, theater, dance, and film to the Lincoln Center campus and beyond, and we are delighted to help them pursue new projects that will undoubtedly challenge, stimulate, and inspire us."

The Lincoln Center Awards for Emerging Artists continue the legacy of the Martin E. Segal Awards, which were established in 1986 by the Board of Directors of Lincoln Center in honor of the arts leader and former Lincoln Center chairman and his commitment to rising talents. Each year, the Segal Awards are given to two emerging artists, rotated annually among the resident organizations. Over the last 30 years, nearly a quarter of a million dollars has been given to more than 70 remarkable emerging artists associated with Lincoln Center. Past Martin E. Segal Award winners include pianists Jonathan Biss and Shai Wosner; the Brentano, Borromeo, and JACK string quartets; mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung; violinist Augustin Hadelich; director Thomas Kail; dancer Daniel Ulbricht; cellist Alisa Weilerstein; choreographer Christopher Wheeldon; jazz saxophonist Melissa Aldana; composers Jason Robert Brown and Michael John LaChiusa; and conductor Xian Zhang, among many others.

Calidore String Quartet, Chamber Music Society
Heralded for its informed, polished, and passionate performances, the Calidore String Quartet performs in prestigious venues, including Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Wigmore Hall, and festivals, including Verbier, Ravinia, and Mostly Mozart. Winner of the 2016 inaugural M-Prize, the largest chamber music prize in the world, the quartet is also a BBC New Generation Artist, member of Chamber Music Society Two, and recipient of the 2016 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship. The quartet received top prizes in the Fischoff, Coleman, Chesapeake, Hamburg, and ARD Munich competitions and serves as visiting guest artists at the University of Michigan and the University of Delaware Schools of Music. Violinists Jeffrey Myers and Ryan Meehan, violist Jeremy Berry, and cellist Estelle Choi formed the Calidore String Quartet in 2010 at the Colburn School Conservatory of Music.