Calidore String Quartet Receives 2016 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship

Calidore String Quartet

The Calidore String Quartet is thrilled to join eight other highly talented soloists and ensembles on the roster of BBT Award and Fellowship winners for 2016. The "the epitome of confidence and finesse" (Gramophone), the Calidore is the first American quartet to be granted a fellowship. Fellowship winners receive £20,000 plus generous support, networking opportunities and counsel for the duration of their BBT projects. Chosen by the BBT Artistic Committee from a shortlist of 22 nominated musicians and ensembles, the following young musicians now have the opportunity to embark on tailor-made plans to advance their careers:

BBT Awards
Danish String Quartet
Anna Lucia Richter soprano

BBT Fellowships
Calidore String Quartet
Alexandra Conunova violin
Zoltán Fejérvári piano
Maria Milstein violin
Beatrice Rana piano
Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad viola

Special BBT Chamber Music Award for Italian musicians in Memory of Claudio Abbado
Quartetto Lyskamm

Formed in 2010 at the Colburn Conservatory of Music in California, the Calidore String Quartet has won many awards including the Fischoff, Coleman, Chesapeake, and Yellow Springs competitions in the US, plus the top prizes at the 2012 ARD Munich International String Quartet Competition and Hamburg International Chamber Music Competition. The Quartet regularly performs throughout North America, Europe and Asia, including many renowned festivals such as Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (DE), East Neuk Festival (UK), Great Lakes Chamber Music Festival (MI) and the Mostly Mozart Festival (NY). CSQ has worked closely with the likes of David Finckel, Heime Müller, Gabor Takacs-Nagy and Quatuor Ebène, was selected by the Emerson Quartet to be Artists in Residence at Stony Brook University in New York and also appointed to the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Two programme in 2015. The Quartet also released its critically acclaimed debut recording of quartets by Mendelssohn and Haydn in 2015.